Testimonials 2017-04-22T09:26:03+00:00

Testimonials

When it comes to the happiness of our pupils and quality of our teaching and facilities, don’t take our word for it, take a look at what some of our children, parents and others have to say:

I liked working with the olders ones, they helped me and explained things and helped me get involved.
Prep School pupil commenting on a Whole School Maths Day
When I first joined Taverham Hall, I knew the music would be like nothing I had ever experienced but I didn't realize it would be quite so good.
Prep School pupil
The workshop was cool and interesting. I learnt lots on factorials, triangle numbers, nth term and topology.
Year 8 pupil commenting on a Maths Workshop
Italy was interesting because witnessing history first handed was just amazing.
Prep School pupil commenting on Latin trip to Naples
It has been the most pleasant experience so far after moving several times due to army life. Ralph himself decided he might like to start Nursery rather than continue at the village pre-school and the results are two very happy little boys. Thank you.
Nursery and Year 2 Parent
“Just a quick note to say thank you so much for today. It was such a pleasure coming back to visit and meeting all the current pupils and staff. It’s nice to see that the changes that have happened since I left have only enhanced what was already a very special place. Mike’s speech really conveyed that well. A special thank you to Blythe and Samantha who I didn’t get a chance to thank at the end. They were an absolute pleasure on the tour, very informative, bright and a credit to the school…”
a former pupil after visiting the school during the May 2010 Open Morning with his young family
“It was a great experience and lots and lots of fun!”
Year 8 overnight canoe expedition.
“It was a very interesting morning and we learnt a lot.”(a morning with PC Tomlinson)
Year 5 pupil
“Hilltop required a lot of teamwork and encouragement and everyone came away saying they had achieved a lot more than they had hoped to!”
Year 8 pupil
Just wanted to say how fantastic the fireworks were! What a great evening.
Parent
“Please pass on my thanks and congratulations to Mr Drew-Batty for organising such an enjoyable afternoon at the House Music Competition. There are obviously many talented musicians in the school and it was great to have the chance to see them perform. There were a lot of proud parents today! Look forward to lots more concerts and competitions in the future.”
a parent who emailed the school after the 2011 Bullard House Competition
‘The outcomes for the children in the nursery and reception classes are outstanding.They make good progress from their starting points in all areas of learning. Children are happy, self-motivated and enjoy learning. They co-operate well, and readily make choices and decisions. Secure foundations for their future well-being in all aspects of their learning are provided.’
extract from Nov 2010 ISI inspection report relating to the Early Years Foundation Stage
“Games is great fun and it gives us a break from the classroom. We have many talented pupils but we try to let everyone have a go in matches whatever they are like in sport.”
Year 8 pupil
‘Pupils’ personal development is excellent. The atmosphere of respect and care for others, together with the excellent relationships which the pupils have both with each other and with adults, shows that they have extremely well-developed personal qualities for their age.’
ISI inspection report November 2010
It is reassuring to know that your team are all on board to help him make the most of his time here but also helping ultimately to get ready for his future in what ever he decides to do. I appreciate all the time that goes in to him and thank everyone sincerely for their hard work.
Year 6 parent
“Throughout my time at Taverham Hall, I have been offered lots of musical opportunities, from singing at Fishmongers Hall to performing original compositions in assembly and not forgetting performing at the Theatre Royal with Blake! In the future I hope to keep on playing the clarinet and learning about music. Thank you I have really enjoyed music at Taverham Hall.”
Year 8 pupil
“The boarding community is great. Everybody acts like a family up in the boarding house and always looks after each other – from seniors to juniors.”
Year 7 Pupil
excellent - very friendly all staff and children, especially designated 'buddy' and Class Teacher.
Year 2 parents
Taverham Hall has been a wonderful experience for Jamie as well as us and we will have many fond memories in our hearts of Taverham Hall, its Headmaster and staff.
Year 8 parent
“Inspiring art Teacher Wendy Stamp invited me to give a couple of workshops during ART DAY at Taverham Hall School. Had a wonderful time in this lovely school. Delightful and imaginative children and a very high standard of work…..an art room full of sequins, glitter, paint and magic. My idea of heaven.”
artist, Lucy Loveheart June 2012
“I absolutely loved it and would definitely go again. It was one of my favourite holidays ever.”
pupil quote re Easter 2011 Ski Trip to Saas Fee in Switzerland
I would like to thank you for all your hard work in organising such an amazing tour to Ireland for the U13s last week. The itinerary was excellent and Jack had a truly fantastic time, coming home with some wonderful tales & lots of great memories from a tour that he regards as “The Best Ever”.
Parent
We would like to say a big thank you to the two pupils that took us on the tour of your very impressive school, (Evie and Edward) these pupils were very polite, helpful and knowledgeable.
Parents who attended one of the school's Open Mornings
Pupils are courteous, thoughtful and articulate young people with a clear sense of responsibility for others; older pupils set a good example to younger ones, as promoted by a flourishing ‘shadow’ system.’
ISI inspection report November 2010
I would like to thank all of your staff and yourself for making me feel very welcome and for giving me such a varied and useful experience. The children have inspired me to seriously consider a teaching career within the prep school or nursery age range.
Past Year 8 pupil who came back to gain some work experience
“Dear Grace and George, Thank you very much for giving us such an excellent tour of your school. I can tell that you both really enjoy school and you have made us think that it would be an ideal place for our children too. You are a great ‘advert’ for the school, good luck in your upcoming exams and thank you again. “
visiting parent who sent a card after touring the school at one of our Open Mornings
“We went orienteering around the school grounds in pairs. It involved team work and friendships and we all had a brilliant morning!”
Year 6 pupil
Very satisfied with our child's first steps into education. It feels like being part of a family.
Nursery parent
‘The Judgement of outstanding means that your setting is exceptional and significant elements of your work are exemplary. I do not underestimate the considerable hard work, expertise and commitment it takes to achieve outstanding provider status. Finally, in addition to my congratulations, my thanks for all you are doing to raise standards and improve lives.’
Christine Gilbert
extract from letter dated March 2010 from Christine Gilbert, Her Majesty’s Chief Inspector, addressed to the Headmaster of Taverham Hall School. This letter relates to the January 2010 Ofsted Inspection of our Nursery Department
‘They concentrate well, listening to stories and are keen to answer questions and make their own contributions, They discuss things that are important to them at circle time and older children answer the register in French as well as English. There are excellent opportunities for children to develop problem-solving and mathematical skills.’
extract from Ofsted’s Jan 2010 Nursery inspection report
“5 star school (if we could make it higher we would!)”
Year 8 pupil
I would like to extend a special thank you for all the support and encouragement from you and from her tutors and teachers, throughout her time at Taverham culminating in her determination to pursue the scholarship to Framlingham. Although her input has been impressive and important this would not have been achieved without the tremendous perseverance and guidance from the school. We are again most grateful.
Year 8 parents
“If the starting point is Taverham Hall, the finishing point can be anywhere you want.”
Martin Bell
Former Pupil - OBE and UNICEF Ambassador
The support from the start has been fantastic and Shai has settled in very well.
Year 1 Parent
‘Children have exceptional opportunities to learn about the world around them. The ‘Forest School’ activities provide children with the chance to explore and investigate outdoor environments, while developing skills of cooperation and using their initiative. Children are able to make dens, gather leaves, use tools, go pond-dipping and hunt for mini-beasts. These activities provide learning opportunities across all areas of learning and build on children’s skills.’
extract from Ofsted’s Jan 2010 Nursery inspection report
Thank you for giving me a fantastic start in life.
Year 8 pupil